Morpheus on… Civility

So I’m watching this “Daily Show” ep from about three months ago – and they did a montage of sound bites from various news pukes, including two from Fox “News” bimbos.

One was from the fake blonde with the crazy eyes – the other, from an African-American I’d not seen before (I say African-American – she was barely 30% African – but I guess that’s as close as Fox “News” will EVER get to having an ACTUAL black presenter).

Anyhoo, the 30% African-American presenter said someone had been “u… incivil” – i.e., she had changed the word, mid way through the first syllable, from “uncivil” to “INcivil” – which made me laugh, since I was convinced NEITHER word existed.

But before nominating her for the Sarah Palin Award for playing fast and loose with the English language, I decided to check my facts. And whilst I’ve NEVER used EITHER word – it turns out that “civil” CAN be given a prefix to turn it into an antonym.

The word is “UNcivil”! If the bimbo had just GONE with her first thought, she would have been CORRECT – albeit by sheer, dumb LUCK!

The late, great British newsreader, Andrew Gardner, said it best – “If you suddenly come across something unfamiliar on your autocue, look the viewer straight in the eye and with all the authority you can muster… say the first thing that comes into your head.”

Words to live by. If the Fox “News” bimbo had DONE that – I would never have written this piece!

Footnote: the WordPress SpellChecker accepts “uncivil” and rejects “incivil” – ’nuff said.
6 responses to this post.

  1. I missed that one.

    The culprit is the English language, and its non-Germanic determination to vary, evolve, and generally make life tough for (a) people trying to speak it as a second language, and (b) folk upwardly mobile from the ghetto (or from t’ North of England ee by gum tha knows – does a little clog dance)…

  2. Posted by Vincent on February 13, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Well, the Fox bimbo was American – and SLIGHTLY black. So p’raps BOTH your parameters apply!

    Tee-hee!

  3. I can’t wait to move in to my new apartment on Wednesday, unpack and plug in my TVs, and remind myself of the name of the lady. But I have just remembered that we are forgeting one thing: Americans have different usages. They say “insure” meaning both “protect against misfortune” (same as us) and “make certain of” (where we say “ensure”). So, who knows…? I ought to mention that I have injoyed listening to BBC Radio 4 News since I packed up the TVs on Thursday 10 February.

  4. Posted by Vincent on February 15, 2011 at 11:27 am

    I NEARLY “corrected” your spelling of “enjoyed” – but stopped myself JUST in time!

  5. Posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2012 at 9:52 am

    vincent = left wing retard

  6. Posted by Vincent on February 28, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    anonymous = right wing arsehole!

Leave a comment

