Morpheus on… A Pyrrhic Victory

Former model Paula Hamilton just got fined £400, with £650 in “costs” – plus a £15 “victim” surcharge, for hitting a cop with – a SUNFLOWER!

That has to be the DEFINITION of a Pyrrhic victory.

It’s hard to work out who is actually the biggest LOSER here – the fifteen-pound-richer dick-head COP – or the arsehole MAGISTRATE!

For those who are not familiar with Paula Hamilton, here is her most famous appearance, in a 1980’s VW Golf ad…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gKQIUJOr1GA

Sorry the quality isn’t too good. It’s not one of mine. I HAVE the ad – but didn’t put it up, as this one was already there, so mine would’ve been hidden in “duplicates”.

However, I DID put up the MUSIC used in the ad – it is Alan Price’s “Changes” – which can be found here…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AeAAj2WL_ng

As for Paula: it’s a good job she didn’t pull a BANANA on the idiot cop – the moronic magistrate might have given her THREE MONTHS!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cy Quick on February 25, 2013 at 12:02 am

    I politely decline to admire tall thin models. As to Alan Price, I always confuse him with the bloke who did House of the Rising Sun. I never did like ch ch ch ch Changes. If he had sung the sung properly, without the fake stutter, I would have admitted that it was a good aspect in life about which to sing. But I cannot remember what point he was making. I did listen to your link a week ago but I have forgotten what he said. I expect it was: “Some changes are quite nice but many changes are deplorable. Anyway, they cannot be avoided so I do not know why I am singing this song.” Good for him.

  2. Posted by Vincent on February 26, 2013 at 1:42 am

    Oh, where to begin? Okay: Alan Price, the singer of this 1988 number “Changes” – used in the VW Golf ad – WAS the organist with the Animals, when they recorded their classic 1964 version of “The House Of The Rising Sun” – and since the EMI copyright clearance office needed a name on the “residuals” form (the song itself being “traditional”) Alan said, “Oh put my name on it and we’ll sort it out later.”

    Of course, they had no idea the record would become literally legendary – thus Alan made a FORTUNE from it – which severely pissed off Eric Burdon (vocals) and Chas Chandler (bass – he went on to produce Jimi Hendrix) as they had ALL worked on the arrangement!

    As for “ch-ch-ch-ch-changes” – that’s a DAVID BOWIE record – unrelated to Alan Price and ANY of the above!!

  3. Posted by Cy Quick on February 26, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Wow! That sorts out a few 50-year-old mess-perceptions of mine. Sadly, I might very well forget… Ta

  4. Posted by Vincent on February 26, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    Oh don’t worry – I’ll get old too someday! (Said the SIXTY-year-old).

    Actually, from the report I read, the above case sounds like one of those where you feel you are watching a play, where the ending is obvious.

    The impression I get is that Paula is a highly-strung (possibly slightly barmy) hooray who fell out with a humourless berk in a tall hat.

    But what struck me was the fact that instead of just walking AWAY from the situation, said lame-arse cop decided to get “official” with her.

    So instead of just taking his TINY knocks, he allowed himself to become a LAUGHING STOCK.

    I recall an instance many years ago where an officer (whom a friend referred to as a “coonstable” – racist as hell, but I had to giggle) tried to make a name for himself with ME – and in court, the magistrate and I made him look like an IDIOT.

    Sadly, the judge in Paula’s trial did not have the same level of humour or intelligence.

Leave a comment

