Morpheus on… The “Star Wars” Theme

I hear that, in England, the titular piece has just been voted the best movie theme of all time.

Of course, had they known about the unofficial LYRIC, they might have voted for “The Good, The Bad And The Ugly” instead.

You see, the (original and best) Star Wars movies were BRITISH. Only the lead actors and MONEY came from America. And we Brits are an irreverent lot. Thus, while the saga was being shot, you would often hear the crew singing said unofficial lyric…

“Star Wars,

Made me a for-tune,

Paid off the mort-gage,

Bought me a car…”

True fact.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cyrusquick on October 2, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    I never liked it. When I heard a DJ mention the story and process it as a cliffhanger thus:

    “…what do you think was voted the best movie theme of all time… I will tell you after this record…”

    I did not like the record and I tuned away, missing the answer. But I had thought of the Harry Lime theme, and Also Spracht Zarenthusa (please correct my spelling as needed!) as probably being played most on the radio of their time at least.

    I have just thought of Over the Rainbow. Maybe that is not a theme.

  2. Posted by Vincent on October 3, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    No, Over The Rainbow is a musical interlude, not a theme. And while Richard Strauss’s Also Sprach Zarathustra is featured in 2001, it too is not really a theme. The Harry Lime Theme is though – it’s CALLED that.

    I had it up on YouTube for years, but then some spoilsport had it taken down – ironically, over copyright. I say ironically, since the piece is unusual in that the record is the SAME as the recording used in the film – which never happened in those days. The MU insisted on separate recordings. But then, Anton Karas was east European and thus not covered.

    However, it seems that today, SOMEONE is claiming copyright on it.

    Anyhoo, I now have it up on the Parisian service, Dailymotion (which sounds like a laxative, but isn’t). You can find it (for the moment, at least) here… http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xz3t7i_anton-karas-the-harry-lime-theme-the-cafe-mozart-waltz-original-78_music

Leave a comment

