Morpheus on… “60 Is The New 40”

As a Child Of The Sixties, I keep hearing how “Sixty is the new forty.”

And since, like all other Children Of The Sixties, I am now rapidly sliding from Middle Age into Old Age – the turning point of which IS sixty – I should feel encouraged by this dictum.

However, carrying the logic through means that in another twenty years, the dictum will then be…

“Death is the new sixty.”

Discuss.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by littlealfie on April 26, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    “Sixty is the new Forty” doesn’t mean quite what it sounds!

    It USED to be that when you were Forty you had twenty-five years to go until you could give up work and retire on a reasonable Pension (made up of State plus Company or personal Pensions).

    Thanks to the stealth taxing of Pension funds by that parsimonious presbyterian PICT at Number 10 the age when you NOW have twenty -five years to go to retirement seems to have gone up to SIXTY!!!

    That is what they are REALLY trying to get us used to.

    However, outside of sordid political and financial considerations, I still intend to remain true to GOD (that’s Growing Old Disgracefully before you start thinking you were wrong about me!) because I’ve found you can get away with SO much more when you have grey hair!

    Not, of course that YOU would know!

    And, would you believe, I used to DREAD questions that ended in “discuss” because I didn’t know enough to have any opinions one way or the other!

    It DID make for really short exam answers though.

    Alfie

  2. Posted by theworldaccordingtomorpheus on April 28, 2010 at 2:14 am

    (1) It’s weird how us Boomers are now the new elderly! I wrote a piece YEARS ago pointing out that if Saga wanted to survive, they would have to become the new Club 18-30. I.e., in my day, they ran coach tours to the bulb fields of Holland – but the only plants MY people would be interested in, would be those available for SMOKING in Amsterdam’s BARS!

    (2) Hair is WASTED on the young. But since mine started to go AWOL, I took extreme measures. Of course, one needs the right-shaped bonce for the “clean-head” look. If you resemble Jean-Luc Picard – you’ll look COOL. But if you end up looking like Alf Garnet – not so much.

    (3) I find “discuss” is a great ending for a piece where you don’t HAVE an ending. Tee-hee!

  3. Posted by littlealfie on April 28, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I like the idea of the staff at the Old Peoples Homes having to complain about the residents playing their Prog Rock albums too loud and all night!

    Not because they’ve gone deaf but BECAUSE THEY CAN!

    Alfie

  4. Posted by theworldaccordingtomorpheus on April 29, 2010 at 8:13 am

    COL!!! (chuckle out loud!)

  5. jeah. it was the best time of my life. id love the the m. they was a piece of the brst time of my life.
    you belive in rnb meggi

  6. I am the ungrateful offspring of your generation, I’m a career soldier who has deployed on many operations from 1984 to 2004.
    Here’s my take on your generation, your music was awesome and the rightful and just youthful social revolution of the 60’s gave way to cynical commercial exploitation from the 70’s forward.

    So here’s my take on your generation:

    “NEVER HAS SO LITTLE BEEN ACCOMPLISHED BY SO MANY WITH SO MUCH.”

    The world has worsened on your watch. You gave up on your ideals for the almighty dollar and set a new high mark for greed. Collectively, your generation has selfishly destroyed the world for personal profit .

    Thanks.

  7. Posted by Vincent on March 3, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    Sadly, you’re RIGHT. My Children Of The Sixties had their chance – and BLEW it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.